I grieve for Moses

Imagine with me for a moment that you were Moses; brought up in the palace to experience the very best, attempts to rescue people from their enemies and probably expects a pat on the back. Instead he gets a condemnation and is forced into “hard” exile. Imagine a Prince tending sheep in the wilderness. Imagine a lord becoming a servant. Fast forward forty years and he is sent back to the very people who had caused him to go into exile. He becomes their leader and takes them out of bondage, but are they grateful? Yes, for a short while; and then the complaints begin. From one thing to another, nothing ever seemed good enough, they frustrated Moses to no end. He stood in the gap, he prayed for them, led them and gave his all, yet they complained at every turn and finally, he yielded to frustration and disobeyed GOD!
Then he lost the prize, he would not see the promised land, after all the years of enduring every type of suffering for the sake of these people, a moment of anger cost him the reward. I cannot imagine what he must have felt when God made that pronouncement but I doubt that he was happy. It’s a mark of his humility that he accepted the decision without any protest but I grieve for him and people like him. Followers can frustrate a leader to anger but we must be careful not to disobey God and lose sight of our purpose. Followers are generally selfish and fickle and only the wise leader can manage recalcitrant followers without losing out. Be they children, employees, church members or other followers, whenever you feel frustrated and ready to give up, remember there’s a promised land just around the corner. Don’t give up, look up, don’t yield to anger, refocus. Whatever you do, remember Moses. Selah

Author: elsiewrite

Wife. Mom. Writer. Worshiper of God. Certified Public Speaker. I love to laugh and like to learn. I enjoy a holiday when I can get one. If I could not write, wonder what I'd do?

4 thoughts on “I grieve for Moses”

  1. That is very fascinating, You are a very professional blogger. I have joined your feed and stay up for in search of more of your excellent post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

