And it came to pass…

One of the more common phrases in the Bible is the above title; “and it came to pass…”First it came, but it did not come to be, it came to pass. And this seems to be the rule of life.

It came to pass, it comes in order to pass, in fact it would appear that everything is in constant motion, it’s passing away. Nothing is here to stay, it came so that it would pass.

I remember several years ago, I had two babies fourteen months apart. When they were two and three years old, they were like twins; the older was more quiet than the younger but he needed just as much time. I thought I was going to die. There was always something to do for them and heir older siblings. None of them was old enough to be very useful around the home, I was on my feet all the time, tired all the time, feeling totally frustrated and sure that my life as a normal human being was over! But it came to pass…

I recall the feeling of dread that usually accompanied the first trimester of pregnancy when food wold taste like poison and every smell, no matter how pleasant, would be an offence; but it came to pass…

I remember being so poor that I could not afford anything at all and feeling like I was the most unfortunate person in the world, but yes, it came to pass! Nothing comes to stay, everything is passing away. No matter how bad it looks now, it will pass. No matter how good it appears to be, take it from me, it has not come to stay. The unkind boss will pass, the lean purse will pass, the joblessness will pass, the childlessness will pass. The exams will pass, this sickness too will pass; in due time, everything passes.

Do the best you can, be the most you can be for today because it will pass. This whole world was designed to pass by its maker. Have you ever heard of Carthage? The Roman Empire? Songhai Empire? Emperor Nero? All these have come and gone. The way life is designed, it is not meant to last forever, at least not in its present form. Only eternity will last but regrettably that is the one thing most of us do not think about. But it’s the only thing really worth thinking about because, incidentally, it will come and it will stay!

Are you ready for it?

shalom!

 

Author: elsiewrite

Wife. Mom. Writer. Worshiper of God. Certified Public Speaker. I love to laugh and like to learn. I enjoy a holiday when I can get one. If I could not write, wonder what I'd do?

5 thoughts on “And it came to pass…”

Leave a Reply

