Battered

Sinmisola Ogunyinka’s email signature is “contradict your prediction” and this sums up her writing for me.
Every book of hers I have read has left me totally satisfied but at the same time craving more.

Battered is no different. It is a romance story that would fit the thriller genre very nicely. What I call a romance story that a man would be happy to read.

It tells the story of a Nigerian in the British marines who comes home on a mission to fall in love and get married. His mission succeeds. That is the story in a sentence; but Sinmisola takes this seemingly simple tale of boy-meets-girl and builds a story full of suspense, intrigue, drama and enough twists and turns to make your heart pound.

The story is as unpredictable as you can imagine. Sinmisola’s unique style is her ability contradict your prediction. Sinmisola writes romance with a twist; she talks about sex without talking about it. One moment it’s hot and steaming, the next moment it’s chaste and properly modest, without dropping the tempo.

I would not want to spoil the book for you. Go look for it on her website, and buy it.

Battered is a deeply satisfying read. I would recommend it for anyone and everyone.

My personal rating for this book would be a 9 out of 10. 

And the extra point is so she can keep churning out more.

Kudos Ma’am!

Author: elsiewrite

Wife. Mom. Writer. Worshiper of God. Certified Public Speaker. I love to laugh and like to learn. I enjoy a holiday when I can get one. If I could not write, wonder what I'd do?

Leave a Reply

