My Gratitude Chronicles (1)

When I was about 5 years old, I had a dream. It was a terrible nightmare and the dream is as clear now as the night I first had it more than forty years ago. In the dream, there were some people dressed in black from top to bottom; and they were standing beside a very big grave. There were a lot of kids all lined up around the gaping hole-in-the-ground.One of the people was giving instructions to the others to bring the children, and as they brought them, they would toss them into the grave. I was so frightened!

When it came to my turn, I somehow wriggled out of their grasp and ran.

Then I woke up. I was drenched in sweat and was so frightened. I was sleeping beside my mother that night, and she woke up when I ‘ran’ out of the dream. She guessed I must have had a bad dream, and she repeatedly asked me what the matter was, but I was so scared I could not tell her about the dream. After a while, she told me to lie down and go back to sleep. But I was too scared to sleep that night.

Why?

I ‘knew’ instinctively who the leader of the people in black was, and I was scared that if I told my Mother the person would come after me in real life and kill me. So I kept quiet. It was a secret I could not share. I kept thinking about the dream and wondering what it meant for many years, but I still could not share for a long time.

Finally, in my thirties, I told my Mom. She was shocked that I kept such a dream secret for so long. Then she prayed for me, that no harm would befall me. But by then I knew I would be fine because God was with me.

It’s been almost fifty years, and I’m still here; still standing, jumping, leaping and praising God.

Ye, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil…” Psalm 23:4

I owe my life to God alone.

author

#Elsiewrite. http://www.elsiewrite.com

Author: elsiewrite

Wife. Mom. Writer. Worshiper of God. Certified Public Speaker. I love to laugh and like to learn. I enjoy a holiday when I can get one. If I could not write, wonder what I'd do?

Leave a Reply

